Navruz, Part 1.5

I’m having some problems posting photos. I wanted to post two more of Navruz, but I wasn’t allowed to add more to the last post. So I tried to had both here, but it is only accepting one. But I will go ahead an post it. If you will remember, Navruz is the Persian/Turkic New Year celebration at the spring equinox. Next post will have photos of the dancing and singing program at Khujand’s celebrations.

Occasionally I’ll see an exhibit that makes me realize how much the Soviet Union did for Tajikistan. This couple represents a traditionally dressed bridal couple pre-Soviet era. After the wedding, the woman would still have to have her body, including whole head, covered whenever she was out of the home or with men other than her relatives. Think the equivalent of a burqa. The area which would become Tajikistan was part of the Persian Samanid dynasty (819-992 AD) and they take pride in the literature and culture of that time. But two-thirds of the country is mountains, and when the Russians and eventually the Soviets took over in the late 19th century, most of the sparse population was a brutal feudal society scattered in the high Pamir mountains, isolated from the rest of the world.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Navruz, Part 1.5

  1. Sara Pfannkuche

    When I first saw this photo I thought the women’s outfit was on a manequin. Only after reading the post did I recognize that the hands were real. So, so glad this was never my possible life but what a wonderful picture!

    • David

      When I first looked at them, I didn’t even realize that I was looking at two people. I saw only the man. The garb is so effective that is make the woman invisible.
      DS

      • David

        Why isn’t there an edit function so that we can clean up our hastily posted and mistake-ridden comments?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

