Shopping

Dear friends and family: If you cannot access this YouTube video, please let me know.

High school senior Zarina and her cousin, university freshman Farangiz, volunteered to take me shopping for traditional Tajik clothes on March 30. We went to the large “Chinese” market outside of the city-proper on the way to the airport. I was told I would see a lot of Chinese people, but I didn’t. That’s because I was looking for the majority Chinese ethnic group, Han. Later I found out that the Chinese in this market are Uyghurs from the far Western province of China, Xinjiang, which borders Tajikistan. Uyghurs are a Turkic people and are more closely related to Tajiks than they are to Han Chinese.

The following slide show was built from a few photos I took on this shopping trip. It is an experiment to see if I could do it technologically. I will be working on a longer, more coherent and complicated slide show for another posting about Khujand State University’s student mobile theater project on American culture.

Here’s a photo of me wearing one of the two outfits I bought that day — along with several students and teachers from Patar Village school, in Kanibadam District, where the student mobile theater performed. But more on that later.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Shopping

  1. Sara Pfannkuche

    Very, very proud of you! The video was very cool. I don’t think I could have done that, especially with the added music. You are getting really good. And, not that I expect anything, but a dress like the one you are wearing in the photo would be so cool in my closet (maybe even cool on me too!). I can wait for a hand-me-down if I have too…

  2. Russell

    More videos! Longer videos!

    That dress fits and suits perfectly and has an ikat sort of look to the design – you look exactly as you did in Indonesia 30 years ago, or are you also good at Photoshopping …….

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

